Secrets of the River (Copyright 2007)

Secrets of the River

I’ve seen gulfs.

I’ve seen oceans that are large, and deep as a baritone.

As deep as the Baltic Sea.

These bodies of water are a reminder of me.

I’ve swam in the Black sea when the sky was white.

Sailed the Mediterranean on my way to Egypt.

Touched the bottom of the Atlantic,

the lost continent; saw my blood drip into the Red Sea.

I’ve seen the rich dark color

of the earth’s bodies of water.

These bodies of water are a reminder of me.

One thought on “Secrets of the River (Copyright 2007)

Leave a Reply

