Why do you smile? (Copyright 2009)

Why do you smile?

 

I don’t think she loves me anymore.

Or maybe I don’t know.

She looks the other way when I try to speak.

To her, I no longer exist.

She makes me feel subhuman.

I thought that this was right.

I hate to be wrong.

Because when I’m wrong,

it feels as if the world’s collapsing around me.

She only smiles when I smile first.

She no longer seems excited about me.

When I try to show my excitement towards her,

she deflates it.

Maybe she didn’t really mean it when she said:

“You can talk to me about whatever you want.”

Maybe it was a joke.

I don’t think  that she cares anymore.

I don’t think that she ever did.

 

Leave a Reply

