“I want to go home” (Copyright 2008)

I want to go home

I want to go home,

to my mother.

And listen to the prophetic words of my father,

then see my two brothers.

I want to go home,

and dive inside of my mother’s garden,

pulling out the weeds and mint vines.

And soften a heart that’s bitter and harden.

I want to go home, and listen to the birds as they sing.

I want to go to wherever princes are made.

Then go to England to see who’ll be crowned King.

I want to go home,

and taste the summer air.

Then let the sun touch my skin,

avoiding everyone as if I was never there.

I want to go home,

and sit in the shade,

beneath a cluster of trees, 

and read something by Billy Collins, page by page.

I want to go home,

and grab my white linen sheets.

Say goodbye to everyone.

Then finally roll over and fall asleep. 

My blog is made possible by loyal  readers like you so please don’t hesitate to scroll down,  click the link below, and you’ll be transported over to pay pal where you can make an anonymous donation so we can keep this thing rolling.

Support my blog paypal.me/anoalipoetry

Leave a Reply

